What are Promoted-only Tweets?

Promoted-only Tweets are only shown to users targeted in your ad campaigns. Unless specifically targeted, they do not show up on your followers' timelines and are not visible in search results. However, because Promoted-only Tweets are live, they are viewable by our data partners who have access to all live Tweets for analysis purposes.

Promoted-only Tweets are made within your ads account. When seen by a targeted user, they function just like normal Tweets and can receive replies, be shared, Retweeted, and liked. 

How?

Promoted-only Tweets, like all Promoted Tweets, can be created from your Twitter Ads account, either from the main Tweet composer in the "Creatives" > "Tweets" tab, or during campaign creation. Any Twitter Ads user with the ability to compose Tweets can create Promoted-only Tweets.

If you are the account owner, you have the choice to select or deselect “Promoted-only” under delivery options. If the "Promoted-only" box is not selected, the Tweet will be sent to your followers as a normal, organic Tweet.

 

Where?

Promoted-only Tweets are shown to the people you target in your campaigns. They are not shown to your followers, unless you specifically target them in your campaign. If you choose to schedule the Tweet, it will not be published until the date and time you specify.

Note: While Promoted-only Tweets are effectively hidden, they are still “live” Tweets. This means if you mention a Twitter user in your Tweet (e.g. “Hi @Twitter”), that user will receive a notification that they were mentioned along with a direct link to the Tweet. In addition, because Promoted-only Tweets are live, they're also viewable by our data partners who have access to all live Tweets for analysis purposes.

 

Frequently asked questions

Why can't I create a Promoted-only Tweet?

If you're accessing an ads account through multi-user login, the account owner must grant "Can compose promotable Tweets" permissions next to your handle. 

This can be done by the account owner in the "Edit access to account" tab.

Learn more about creating Promoted Tweets.

Why can't I un-select "Promoted-only" when Tweeting?

Only an account owner can unselect the "Promoted-only" box to create organic Tweets from the ads account.

If you're accessing the ads account through multi-user login as an account administrator, ad manager, campaign analyst, or organic analyst, you will only be able to create Promoted-only Tweets, and only if you have been granted "Can compose promotable Tweets" permissions. 

Learn more about creating Promoted Tweets.

Will Promoted-only Tweets show to my followers?

No, Promoted-only Tweets will not show to your followers unless you target them in your campaigns. If you navigate to your Twitter profile, Promoted-only Tweets will not show. You can create, manage, and promote your Promoted-only Tweets in your Twitter Ads Account at ads.twitter.com.

 While Promoted-only Tweets are effectively hidden, they are still “live” Tweets. This means if you mention a Twitter user in your Tweet (e.g. “Hi @Twitter”), that user will receive a notification that they were mentioned along with a direct link to the Tweet. In addition, because Promoted-only Tweets are live, they're also viewable by our data partners who have access to all live Tweets for analysis purposes.

How can I delete a Promoted-only Tweet?

Only an account owner can delete Promoted-only Tweets. To delete a Promoted-only Tweet, follow these steps:

  1. Log in to ads.twitter.com.
  2. Navigate to the "Creatives" > "Tweets" tab.
  3. Click on the date of the specific Promoted-only Tweet to open the Tweet.
  4. Delete the Tweet.
Was this article helpful?
Thank you for the feedback. We’re really glad we could help!
Thank you for the feedback. How could we improve this article?
Thank you for the feedback. Your comments will help us improve our articles in the future.

Ready to get started?